Governor Members

As Governors of Kew Woods Primary School, we would like to welcome you to our webpage. We hope you find our page interesting and useful.


In our role as governors we volunteer to support the school, staff and pupils because we believe in their mission to endeavour to provide the most effective education in a warm and respectful learning environment. Our role is to encourage and reinforce the culture of the school.

The Role of the School Governor

The school governors represent a broad range of backgrounds and experience whilst sharing the same interest and passion to support the school.

  • Our role is to help the school provide the best possible education for pupils and we work to support the school to raise achievement.
  • We assist the school to set their aims, agree plans and policies and make the most of available resources.
  • We act as a critical friend to the Headteacher and evaluate and support their role in leading and managing the school.
  • We ensure that the school is accountable to the children and parents it serves, and to its local community and to those who fund and maintain it, as well as to the staff it employs.

The School Governing Body

The School’s Governing Body is made of School Governors who represent a broad range of groups within the school’s community. This effectively enables the governing body to draw upon a sufficient variety of views and experiences. However, the elected members do not represent those groups but act independently within their own right.



Phil Power   

Chair of Governors  

Co-opted Governor

Mr R Cottrell

Vice Chair of Governors 

Ms Sathiyanathan

LA Appointed Governor

Ms C Jackson

Mrs J Bassey

Staff Governors

Mrs M Howard


Community Governors

Mrs V Copeland

Mrs L Collins

 Parent Governors

Mrs F Shaw

Mrs L Mason

Clerk to the Governors


Committee Memberships

All governors are members of Finance, Staffing, Premises, Curriculum and Achievement.

Disciplinary – M Howard, P Power, Y Sathiyanathan

Disciplinary Appeal – V Copeland, R Cottrell, E.Collins

Pay Review – R Cottrell, P Power

Pay Appeals – M Howard + 2 ‘untainted’ Governors

Staff Dismissal – P Power + 2 ‘untainted’ Governors

Staff Dismissal Appeal  – R Cottrell + 2 ‘untainted’ Governors=

Safeguarding Governors - M Howard + V Copeland

EYFS Governor - V Copeland

SEND Governor - V Copeland



Files to Download

Our Twitter

Create custom Twitter Widget using PHP by CodexWorld
  • You can follow our official Apple Regional Training Centre Twitter at @seftonrtc. Stay tuned for updates and courses!

    23rd Sep
Follow Us